Helsinki Contemporary (FI)

Sanna Kannisto & Eeva-Riitta Eerola

Helsinki Contemporary focuses on long term collaboration with both emerging and more established artists who take a physical, in-depth approach to their work. In the collaboration with the artist the gallery accentuates curatorial commitment and focus on the content of the art. The Gallery commits to supporting artists’ careers in the long term by working in close partnership with them and offering personalised professional expertise. Helsinki Contemporary opened its first exhibition in 2008 and today it represents 29 artists and produces 11 shows a year. 


Sanna Kannisto (b. 1974) graduated from the University of Art and Design in Helsinki in 2002. In recent years, she has become one of the most successful photographic artists from Finland. She has exhibited around the world, in Europe, the USA and South America, e.g.: at Centre Pompidou in Paris, 2010; Le Château d’Eau, Toulouse, 2012; Aperture Gallery, New York, 2011; Palais de Tokyo, Paris, 2013; and Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma, Helsinki, 2013. Kannisto’s work is represented in several public collections abroad, including the Centre Pompidou, Paris, and the Fotomuseum Winterthur, Switzerland, and in numerous collections in Finland such as the Saastamoinen Foundation, Museum of Contemporary Art Kiasma and the Finnish Museum of Photography. In 2015 she was awarded the State Price for Photographic Art in Finland.


Eeva-Riitta Eerola (b. 1980) graduated from the Finnish Academy of Fine Arts in 2010 and also studied at the École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-arts de Paris. She has exhibited in several group and solo exhibitions in Finland and abroad, e.g. at Galleri Bo Bjerggaard, Copenhagen, in 2015 and Gallery Jaus, Los Angeles, 2014. Her work is represented in a number of Finnish public collections, such as those of the Saastamoinen Foundation, Sara Hildén Art Museum, and the Wihuri Foundation.


Sanna Kannisto


Eeva-Riitta Eerola

GALLERIES Galleri Andersson/Sandström SE Andréhn-Schiptjenko SE Galerie Anhava FI ANNAELLEGALLERY SE Galleri Bo Bjerggaard DK Bohman-Knäpper SE Cecilia Hillström Gallery SE Charlotte Fogh Gallery DK Christian Larsen SE David Risley Gallery DK Erik Nordenhake SE Galleri Fagerstedt SE Galleri Flach SE Galerie Forsblom SE/FI Gether Contemporary DK Galleria Heino FI Hans Alf Gallery DK Helsinki Contemporary FI Hverfisgallerí IS i8 Gallery IS KANT DK Knight Webb Gallery UK LOYAL SE Galleri Magnus Karlsson SE Martin Asbæk Gallery DK Galerie Nordenhake SE Galleri Riis NO Galleri SPECTA DK STANDARD (OSLO) NO Gallery Steinsland Berliner SE Stene Projects SE Galleri Susanne Ottesen DK Galleri Thomassen SE V1 Gallery DK Wetterling Gallery SE

ARTISTS Alyson Shotz I Rolf Hanson I Lena Johansson I Elina Merenmies I Johan Nobell I Tal R I Elis Eriksson I Kristina Matousch I Katja Larsson I Kaspar Bonnén I Anton Alvarez I James Aldridge I Charlie Roberts I Emma Bernhard I Tore Wallert I Eva Beierheimer I Pauliina Pietilä I Eva Lange I Jussi Goman I Zane Lewis I Amalie Jakobsen I Alvar Gullichsen I Louise Hindsgavl I Morten Schelde I Sanna Kannisto I Eeva-Riitta Eerola I Gudny Rosa Ingimarsdóttir I Hildur Bjarnadóttir I Callum Innes I Thorbjørn Lausten I Leif Kath I Anders Knutsson I Constance Tenvik I Bella Rune I Matt Saunders I Iñaki Bonillas I Éva Mag I Eva Steen Christensen I Mikael Lo Presti I Gunnar Smoliansky I Tommy Svenningsson I John E Franzén I Kirsten Ortwed I Andreas Eriksson ICarolina Falkholt I Richard Colman I Thomas Campbell I Liva Isakson Lundin